"Carte Nouvelle de l'Amerique..." 13 Colonies - 1778 - Lotter


Carte Nouvelle de l'Amerique Angloise... Augsburg: Matthieu Albert Lotter, c. 1778. Beautifully engraved map with original hand-coloring. (Phillips, Atlases, #3517; Nebenzahl, The Compass, #2-10-illustrated).  (Image : 23 ½ x 19 ¼’’)  Very close margins.

This important historical map - issued during the American Revolutionary War -shows the original 13 Colonies, Canada and Florida in great detail. The title cartouche individually names and color-codes the “thirteen United Provinces” (although they are still described as “English possessions”).

The western colonial boundaries extend along the Appalachian and Allegheny Mountains - in accordance with the 1763 Treaty of Paris. Fort Necessity, Fort Duquesne, Sandusky, Detroit, Oswego and Fort Niagara all located. Indian Tribes are also identified. 

The new boundaries of the European possessions are displayed as effected by the outcome of the French and Indian War (Florida is therefore shown as an English possession - not receded to Spain until 1783).

Shipped unmatted


  • Inventory Number: M-14016